The Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science as an independent organisational unit of our university was established in 1964. Its history is closely linked to the long and complex development process of the technical university of Lublin – the Lublin University of Technology.

Since the beginning of higher technical education in the Lublin region there was the idea of training electricians. The great commitment and effectiveness of its spokesmen led to the isolation at the Mechanical Faculty of the discipline of Electrical Engineering, and the following year to the establishment of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering. The first dean of the Faculty was Associated Professor Mieczysław Romuald Krzywicki (MEng) and deputy dean – Associated Professor Leonid Kacejko (MEng). The research and teaching staff were employees of the parent school and the Technical Universities of Łódź and Warsaw. The organisational structure consisted of teams and laboratories: Electrical Engineering, Electrical Measurements, Electrical Machines and Drives, Automation and Electronics, and after the closing of the Faculty of General Technology in 1968 – Technical Physics, Mathematics, and Numerical Methods.

The Faculty of Electrical Engineering underwent various modifications of its organisational structure. In the years 1964-1973 it functioned as the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, in the years 1973-1984 as the Institute of Processing and Use of Electrical Energy with the rights of a faculty. From 1984 to 2003, it again bore the name of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering. It consists of 12 organisational units, i.e.: Institute of the Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering, Chair of General Electrotechnology, Electronics, Automation and Metrology, Electrical Networks and Security, Electrical Equipment and High Voltage Technology, Power Plants and Energy Management, Electrical Machines, Electrical Drives, Computer Science, Electrochemistry, Mathematics.

The Faculty of Electrical Engineering initially educated electrical engineers in an evening, weekend and daytime system in the specialty of industrial electrical engineering, and since 1973 – in a uniform graduate programme. Currently, the Faculty offers Master’s, engineer’s and complementary studies in the daytime and weekend systems in two fields: electrical engineering and computer science, as well as five disciplines: electrical power, electromagnetic devices and technologies, computer science in electrical engineering, engineering applications of computer science, and processing and use of electricity.

In addition, the Faculty offers other forms of education, such as postgraduate courses in specialties corresponding to the current needs of the region’s economy. In parallel with its didactic activities, the Faculty of Electrical Engineering conducts scientific research. Intensive development of its own scientific staff in the 1970s helped to develop research in the then current issues of the region’s industry and agriculture.

The current organisational units of the Faculty carry out research in the subject of electrical engineering, optoelectronics, fiber optics, the use of superconductivity in electrical engineering, cold plasma technology in environmental protection, ion implantation techniques in electrotechnology, the study of electrical properties of materials of plant origin. A number of original scientific research procedures are carried out using the unique laboratory equipment of individual units of the Faculty. They are carried out in collaboration with national and international partners. The results of these undertakings are included in numerous publications.

The level of research and the condition of the staff allowed the Faculty to obtain the rights to confer doctoral and postdoctoral degrees and to run doctoral study programmes.

Visit the 40th anniversary of the FEECS