Department of Mathematics

Mathematical Laboratory, Department of Mathematics and Chair of Mathematics have existed at the University since its inception as a single organisational unit that supports all the faculties and specialties.

In the years 1985-1991 the Chair of Mathematics, gathering all the mathematicians employed by the University, was headed by Jan Kisyński, full professor of mathematics, member of the Polish Academy of Sciences. Professor J. Kisyński is also member of the editorial boards of the journals Studia Mathematica and Commentationes Mathematica, and has been honored with prestigious awards. Since 2003 he has been the Chairman of the Committee of Mathematics at the Polish Academy of Sciences. His lectures delivered at the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste in 1974 on "Semigroup of Operators and Some of Their Applications" were published by the International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna 1976, vol.III.

In 1991-1994 four mathematical chairs were created at all the faculties of the University.

The Chair of Mathematics at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering was led by Prof. J. Kisyński until October 2003, when the function was assumed by dr hab. (Assoc. Prof.) Adam Bobrowski (DEng).